Marietta: A Growing, Thriving Southern City

Marietta is located in Cobb County, Georgia. It is the county seat as well as largest city within Cobb County, having a population of nearly 60,000 residents. Established in 1834, Marietta is located along the dramatic, natural backdrop of the Chattahoochee River and the foothills of Kennesaw Mountain. In addition to the city's scenic beauty, Marietta is a mere eighteen miles northwest of Downtown Atlanta. The city provides visitors and residents with an ample selection of attractions, festivals and annual events, and recreational activities, in addition to a growing business environment. With its six historic districts, some featured on the National Register of Historic Places, Marietta offers traditional Southern charm, hospitality, and history. One of its most exciting points of interest is Marietta Square, an eclectic mix of restaurants, lively nightspots, museums, specialty shops and boutiques, art galleries, and an intimate Broadway-style theater. For outdoor enthusiasts, Marietta boasts year-round out recreation with an intricate network of park space, playgrounds, athletic fields, multi-use trails, and tennis courts.